Three Day International Conference on Environment, Climate, Adaptation & Future Energy (ICECAFE - 2016),
on 20 - 22 Oct 2016

The Department of Science and Humanities, Dhanalakshmi College of Engineering organized a Three-day International Conference on Environment, Climate Change, Adaptation and Future Energy (ICECAFE) in technical collaboration with India Meteorological Department. This Conference was sponsored by Ministry of Earth Sciences. The chief guest of the inaugural programme Dr. Awadesh . N. Jha, Director, Doctoral Training Centre in Biosciences, Plymouth University, UK and the special guest Dr. Poonam Singh, Research Scientist, Arizona State University, addressed the gathering and elaborated about the impacts of Climate Change.

Dr. S. Bagulayan Thampi, Deputy Director General of Meteorology, IMD and Dr. S. Balachandran, Director, RMC were present during the programme. Dr. V. P. Ramamurthi, Chairman, Dhanalakshmi College of Engineering presided over the function and the principal Dr. C. Ramesh Babu Durai welcomed the gathering. Around 300 International and National delegates participated in the conference and presented the papers on their research work. The International speakers Dr. G. Srinivasan, RIMES (Thailand), Dr. Anshul Agarwal, Hydrologist, RIMES (Thailand) and the National speakers Dr. Sultan ISMAIL, Director, (Ecoscience Research Foundation), Dr. K. Palanivelu, Director, Climate Change and Adaptation (Anna University), Dr. R. R. Krishnamurthy, Professor (University of Madras).

Dr. D. Mohan, Professor (AC Tech Campus), Dr. Balaji Narasimhan, professor (IIT Madras), Dr. P. Kamaraj, Professor (SRM University) discussed about the recent advancements in thrust areas like Environment, Climate Change and Energy. The chief guest of the valedictory programme Dr, Peeyush Soni, Faculty, Asian Institute of Technology (Bangkok) briefed about the natural resources and the effect of environmental changes on them. Dr. K. Nagajyothi, Convener, welcomed the gathering and Dr. T. V. Rajendran, Coordinator presented the vote of thanks.